Click to Verify - This site chose VeriSign SSL for secure e-commerce and confidential communications.
Security Seal
Marine Depot Live Chat Support
Pet supplies, Pet products, and Pet Accessories for your dogs, cats, birds, fish, reptiles or small pets. Pet experts are available to help you.
New Customer? Register | Sign In
Expires in 00:00:00
In-Stock! EcoTech Radion XR15w PRO LED Light
0 items
Your cart is currently empty.
View Cart Checkout
Aquarium Supplies
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Filter Media  » Biological  » Biofiltration & Nutrient Control  »  Warner Marine ecoBAK BioPellet Filter Media
Warner Marine ecoBAK BioPellet Filter Media

Warner Marine ecoBAK BioPellet Filter Media

Item #:
Please make a selection
Size:
Quantity:
$19.99 to $59.99
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

Warner Marine ecoBAK BioPellet Filter Media Information




  • Bio-Degradable Polymer filter media.
  • Patent Pending Formulation
  • Developed exclusively by Warner Marine
  • Lowers levels of dissolved organics
  • Reduces Nitrates and Phosphates
  • Lasts up to 12 months
  • Safe, effective and easy to use
EcoBAK is a unique and revolutionary product that will change the way marine and reef aquariums are maintained. EcoBAK is a biodegradable polymer that serves as both a substrate and a stable and consistent organic Carbon food source for bacterial strains that consume organic compounds including Nitrate and Phosphate. In effect, ecoBAK reduces nuisance algae clarifies water and supplies Planktonic bacteria as a food source for corals in the reef aquarium. EcoBAK works naturally, with NO harmful chemical additives.

What’s this mean for your tank?

You will now have water quality that previously could ONLY be obtained by frequent water changes, giant protein skimmers and expensive Zeolite systems.

You will have less problems with nuisance algae, your corals will grow better and look better (better colors) and your fish will be healthier. You will be able to feed your system more food as you no longer have to worry about raising your Phosphate and Nitrate levels.

How do you do it?

Place the ecoBAK in a suitable fluidized reactor or in many instances a media bag. Run approximately 100gph of flow thru each liter of media. Make sure you run a protein skimmer and make sure it’s working well. If possible, run the output of the reactor into the same sump area as the intake pump for the skimmer.

Usage:

Use 250ml per 50 gallons of water volume. Rinse the ecoBAK pellets in purified fresh water. The pellets can be soaked overnight to reduce floating pellets. Add the rinsed pellets into a fluidized bio-pellet media reactor. Attach a small pump to the reactor and adjust flow to approximately 100gph per liter of ecoBAK. The proper amount of flow will create a gentle tumbling effect inside the reactor. Direct the output of the reactor into the same area as the protein skimmer pump intake. Within 3-4 weeks the ecoBAK will be sufficiently colonized with bacteria to begin reducing organic compounds. Aquariums with high bio-load may experience a short period of temporary water cloudiness. Tips for best performance:

Start off with 1/3 of the recommended dosage of ecoBAK and add another 1/3 every week until a full dosage is employed.

Remember to run a GENTLE tumble. An overly aggressive tumble is counter productive.

Aquariums with very high Nitrate and Phosphate (Nitrate 40ppm+, Phosphate 2ppm+) should start off slowly, with 1/4 dosage of ecoBAK, confirm proper function of protein skimmer and confirm that circulation pumps are running and agitating the water surface.

Make sure your protein skimmer is properly rated for your aquarium. Protein skimmer manufacturers frequently exaggerate the capacity ratings of their skimmers.

Replace ecoBAK as it is consumed by bacteria.


Warner Marine ecoBAK BioPellet Filter Media Reviews



Average Rating
(6 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:


FLOW INFO

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 6/4/2014 from KAILUA, HI UNITED STATES
3.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I use many products in the quest for "less than detectable" levels of nitrates. I use polyfilters religiously and a protein skimmer sized 10 times larger than recommended. My refugium is packed with macro algae and I harvest weekly. I added this product on a whim, I purchased 3 next reef MR1XL media reactors (biopellets, purigen, chemipure elite) as "scrubbers" for my system. The product will do what it advertises when directions are followed. I think the best thing I can do is to share my flow rates as no one has given pump/flow/reactor info. So here's what I have experienced. Using 1L of the ecobak in the MR1XL will require a minimum of around 225GPH flow. I connected it directly to an Eheim 2217 to test and found it tumbles nicely (2217 rated at 264GPH). From this I can forsee it tumbling at lower flow in a smaller diameter reactor (the MR1 is 4"). The ecobak pellets expand approx. 1.25 times in volume (not size) when tumbling so my MR1XL could easily hold 2 liters, 3 would be the very max and might actually top out the reactor in flow rates above 300GPH (which will foul the tumbling). I'd expect this data to very similiar among all the biopellet manufacturers. Hope this helped in your product and hardware choices, I also have similiar reviews for flows under the MR1XL and purigen products. Aloha


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




warner biopellets

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 5/28/2014 from SAN DIEGO, CA UNITED STATES
0.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: sorry, i tried this for 2 months and my experience with this product wasn't that good. it started slimming up my sump, protein skimmer, etc... within a month and desolved quickly.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great Product!!!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/10/2014 from Clovis, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I have been using the Warner Marine ecoBAK biopellets for over a year now and my Nitrates have been ZERO ever since. Make sure your reactor keeps them tumbling so they don't clump together and they will work perfect. I would highly recommend this product to anyone in this hobby who struggles with Nitrates & Phosphates.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Magic in a Bottle!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/23/2013 from BELTON, SC UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I've been using Warner Marine ecoBAK Biopellets for almost two years now. Before using these, I had good water parameters but could never get my Nitrates below 10-15 ppm. I did a little research and decided to purchase a media reactor and try out some biopellets. That's when the magic happened! Setup of the media reactor was simple (probably the easiest piece of equipment in this hobby to set up). I added about 250ml of Warner Marine ecoBAK biopellets, ran them for about a week, then added another 250ml. I run +/- 500 ml on my 90 gallon tank (total tank volume with sump and filters is closer to 115 gallons). I flow the water through the media reactor faster than most recommend, but I prefer that the biopellets stay suspended and churning so that they do not stick or clump together. After about three weeks of running the Warner Marine ecoBAK biopellets my Nitrates flat-lined to ZERO (0). That's right...ZERO, NIL, NOTHING, NOTTA, ... Since that time whenever I check my water parameters, my Nitrates are always ZERO, and my Phosphates are near ZERO also. Water clarity is also amazing! I have a reef tank with a tons of LPS (lots of frogspawns, branch hammaers, torch corals, acans, trumpets, etc.), SPS (birdsnest, acros, etc.), mushrooms, clams, polyps, and multiple species of fish including 1-Blue Jaw Trigger, 1-Anularus Angel, 2-Snow-Flake Clowns, 1-Four-Line Wrasse, 1-Malunarus Wrasse, 2-Blue-Gree Cromis, and 1-gobby. The Warner Marine ecoBAK biopellets allow me to feed everything heavily which keeps evertying happy, happy, happy! I would highly recommend this product to anyone in this hobby who struggles with Nitrates & Phosphates. This product makes this hobby much more enjoyable and worry-free.


3 of 3 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




The absolute BEST pellets

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/18/2013 from LA VERGNE, TN UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I have been using EcoBak for over 2 years on my system. They are by far the best thing I ever added to my tank. I have a SPS dominant tank but also have lots of ricordea and zoas and LPS. They all thrive because I am able to feed the tank large amounts and never have nutrient issues. There is no substitute, these pellets are by far superior than any other pellet on the market IMO. Water based extraction method as opposed to solvent based methods that are used by many other pellets available is where you will see the difference. No cloudiness, no clogging. I wont use anything else on my tank. So just click the purchase button now, you wont regret it.


7 of 7 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




If you want the best it here

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/27/2013 from MOUNT HOLLY, NJ UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I have been using Warner Marine egoBAK Pellets for many years now and it is the best Bio Pellets on the market. I run 1000ml in my reactor at a time. In one year I will use 1000-1500ml. Ever since I been using egoBAK my nitrates have been 0. I test them with a Salient test kit.


8 of 8 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


Warner Marine ecoBAK BioPellet Filter Media Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Warner Marine ecoBAK BioPellet Filter Media

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Sorry! While there is no limit to the number of items we'll price match in an order, our online system will only accept one. Please call us at 1-800-566-FISH (3474) and we’ll happily price match additional items for you.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Sharing products with friends and family couldn’t be easier!

Just complete the fields below to send your friend or family member a personalized email message featuring the product of your choice.

Your Name *

Friend's Name *

Friend's Email *

Personal Message

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
July 7, 2014
"I have been a customer of Marine Depot since they opened. Always get what I ordered packed properly and shipped quickly."
tlmwest

July 6, 2014
"I was very satisfied with how everything was packaged. Everything I ordered was nicely placed in the box. I will definitely order from here again. Thank you Marine Depot."
vincentcarlucci83

July 2, 2014
"Love Marine Depot. All around great company with great service and they have everything you can think of."
Gerry0625