Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Aquariums  » Nano Tanks  » Kits  » Tank with Stand  » 20-29 Gallons  »  JBJ 28 Gallon Nano Cube LED Aquarium w/ FREE MTS-60 Stand
JBJ 28 Gallon Nano Cube LED Aquarium w/ FREE MTS-60 Stand

JBJ 28 Gallon Nano Cube LED Aquarium w/ FREE MTS-60 Stand

In Stock: Order by 6PM EST for same-day shipping (M-F)
Item #:
JB7249
Style:
Quantity:
Qualifies for Free Shipping!
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

JBJ 28 Gallon Nano Cube LED Aquarium w/ FREE MTS-60 Stand Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

JBJ 28 Gallon LED Nano Cube with FREE MTS-60 Aquarium Stand

JBJ introduces the newest innovation for the popular 28g Nano Cube Series. Our high intensity LED illumination system delivers the power of halides and the broad coverage of T5 lighting with over 10x the lifespan. It requires less energy consumption, is cool running and offers beautifulshimmering while being eco-friendly.

ADVANCED FEATURES:
LED Illumination
High intensity LED lighting offers the ability to dramatically increase PAR (Photosynthetically Active Radiation) which designates the spectral range from 400
  • 700 nanometers for the growth of photosynthetic organisms while lowering energy input.
24 Hour Light Cycles
Our new canopy offers around the clock illumination all powered by individual power cords
  • Daylight – 25 x 3 Watt – 14K
  • Dawn/Dusk – 4 x 3 Watt – Actinic/466nm
  • Moon – 2 x 1 Watt – Nite-Vu/456nm
Time to Change Lamps?
Impressive 50,000 hour lifespan with a 30% reduction in output. You won’t need to change lamps for at least 10 years*
  • Based on 10 hours a day
Going Green Safely
LEDs do not produce any ultra-violet radiation that is harmful for living organisms and do not contain any toxic mercury that is harmful for the environment. These solid state components are extremely durable and prevent accidental lamp breakage through handling associated with fluorescents. Consuming less energy puts less greenhouse gas emissions into our surroundings….

Beautifully Efficient
Our 89 watt LED system provides comparable PAR output to our 150 watt HQI – 14K canopy system, while consuming approximately 40% less energy.. Enjoy the mesmerizing shimmering of all 3 light cycles generally only found in nature.

Since LEDs turn on to full brightness without having to warm up, you can instantly light up your aquariums without the wait. These revolutionary diodes radiate heat upwards and away from the water to reduce unwanted heat transfer that can be detrimental for aquarium livestock.

Integrated Cooling System
The secret to our cool running top is our artistic canopy which houses an efficient aluminum heat sink for fast heat dissipation. All canopies are made from Flame Retardent ABS Plastic. The 4 cooling fans automatically turn on/off with the main lighting system. A thermal protector is also added to automatically shut of the lighting system in the event the fans fail, it will automatically turn back on once temperatures reach safe conditions.

Easy Feeding
New feeding lid is lighter than the previous full front lid. Grants quick and easy access for feeding and retrieving water samples without lifting the entire hood.

Smart Filtration
The filter starts as water enters the center overflow. The water is directed into our 3-Stage Filter Media Basket, which is installed with a mechanical sponge, chemical activated carbon, and biological ceramic rings.

Our unique 3-Stage Filter Media Basket can host a variety of chemical medias to suit your needs. Cleaning is especially easy, since all you have to do is lift up on the basket handle and watch the water drain out the bottom for a simple and dry filter change. All baskets have a sliding door for added convenience.

Nothing to Hide
Our newly redesigned filter basket is now transparent for easy refugium conversions. Simply add macro algae (eg. Chaeto) into chamber one and chamber two. We recommend leaving the activated carbon in chamber three with a small piece of the mechanical sponge before the water exits to prevent algae clogging pumps.

Creating Motions in Captive Oceans
Our redesigned Ocean Pulse Duo now incorporates a memory chip for flawless performance after a power failure.

Your wavemaker creates turbulent currents for a more natural reef environment. You can set it from 10 seconds to 6 minute alternating cycles. Water is returned via (2) directional return nozzles on each side of the center overflow for even natural currents.

Contemporary Design
Our 2nd generation stand is the perfect complement to our 28g Nano Cube Aquarium. It offers a chiller storage compartment with pre-installed side vents for needed airflow and a shelf for storage.

This contemporary design lifts the aquarium off the pedestal with 4 chrome cyclinders to showcase your living reef.

SPECIFICATIONS:
  • Product Name: 28g Nano Cube - LED
  • Item No: MT-601-LED
  • Tank Volume: 28 gallons
  • Glass Thickness: 6mm
  • Accela Pumps: (2) x 266 gph / 16 Watt
  • Cooling Fans: (4) 3000 rpm / Ball Bearing Type
  • Tank Dims: 18” x 22” x22” high
  • Optional Stand: 18” x 22” x 32” high
  • Lighting Type: Light Emitting Diode
  • Thermally Protected
  • Warranty: 1 Year



Manufacturer Info

JBJ is a top-of-mind brand name in freshwater and saltwater aquarium supplies. The company is committed to innovation and manufacturing only the absolute highest quality equipment. JBJ’s philosophy is "to create products that provide extra value" to hobbyists. JBJ produces hundreds of aquarium products including lights, filters, heaters, UV sterilizers, wavemakers and top-off systems. The company is best known for their affordable line of Arctica chillers and the best-selling Nano Cube aquarium series. We carry the gamut of JBJ products and accessories and are happy to provide you free technical support while you’re setting up your new equipment.

JBJ 28 Gallon Nano Cube LED Aquarium w/ FREE MTS-60 Stand Reviews



Average Rating
(57 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 6
Page


Good Nano

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/11/2014 from MIAMI BEACH, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: I like this nano tank. I bought it about 6 months ago as a nice side tank to my 180 gallon reef. The LEDs are bright in this tank and I do a good job of keeping LPS thriving nicely. The pumps I thought were a bit loud but overall it is a good product.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




OUTSTANDING!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/3/2014
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Let me begin by saying, this is not my first JBJ nano tank. I have had the 6, 12 and 24 gallon compact flourecent tanks and the the 28 HQI in the past and this one beats all! Pros: 1) The LED lights are very intense (day, dusk and moon lights) and provide that shimmer in the water that you really only see with metal halide lighting. 2) The tank runs fairly cool (water temps 68-72F with 10hr daylight cycle) and I have both return pumps running 24/7. Of course, I do expect it to warm up during the summer months. 3) The open top filtration chamber has lots of extra room for bioballs, cheto, etc. Ideal for an over sump light. Also, there is enough room that I was able to add an aftermarket skimmer to the rear chamber. 4) Low power consumption overall. 89W for all lights combine, 11W each for the stock return pumps. Total 111watts if you are running everything all the time. Cons: 1) The feeding door is a bit small. I wish they would have stayed with the design from the JBJ24 where the whole front flips up. 2) The filtration chamber in the rear, though spacious, is not wide enough in my opinion. It would be nice to fit a skimmer in and have some room around it to maneuver your hand. As it is, my skimmer is extremely snug fit. An extra inch longer in the filtration chamber would have been ideal. 3) The legs that hold the hood up are very flimsy. They are little stilts that you lift into slots. I am worried that they may snap one day or slip from the slots and slam the lid shut. With a lighting hood as large and heavy as this one, maybe some skinny hydraulic lifting arms could be implemented (like on the hood of a car). It would up the price a bit, but it would put my mind at ease. 4) The stock pumps were a bit loud. Maybe I had some faulty ones. I had planned to replace them anyway to get more flow. 5) Finally, and probably most important, when I received the tank and stand, I found that many of the parts were bent, scratched or just plain destroyed. The laminate on the stand had begun to peel, one of the plastic feet had been completely crushed to pieces, the lighting ballast/driver connectors had been crushed and the door panel was scratched to hell. I reported this issue to MarineDepot, who in turn contacted the manufacturer to send out replacement parts at no cost to me. I am thankful for the great support at MarineDepot, but very disappointed in the condition of the manufacturer's product when I received it. Everything was made right eventually, but it took a little longer to get the replacement parts. Hence, the 4.5 star rating. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking for a larger nano tank. I cannot think of a better "out of the box" nano tank currently on the market. Aftermarket Upgrades: 1) MaxiJet 1200 pumps (adds 35gph flow each over the stock pumps) 2) Hydor rotating water deflectors 3) Koralia in tank circulation pump 600gph 4) Aqua Euro USA Nano Protein Skimmer 2


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




I will be recommending this ta

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/22/2014 from HIALEAH, FL UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Beginner


Comments: I received my tank on time and was easy to set up the only reason I'm not giving it a 5 star is because the hangera on the basket were broking but I'm sure it happened while it was in transit but other than that love it


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




I will be recommending this ta

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/22/2014
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I received my tank on time and was easy to set up the only reason I'm not giving it a 5 star is because the hangera on the basket were broking but I'm sure it happened while it was in transit but other than that love it


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




OUTSTANDING!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 3/4/2014 from Novi, MI UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Let me begin by saying, this is not my first JBJ nano tank. I have had the 6, 12 and 24 gallon compact flourecent tanks and the the 28 HQI in the past and this one beats all! Pros: 1) The LED lights are very intense (day, dusk and moon lights) and provide that shimmer in the water that you really only see with metal halide lighting. 2) The tank runs fairly cool (water temps 68-72F with 10hr daylight cycle) and I have both return pumps running 24/7. Of course, I do expect it to warm up during the summer months. 3) The open top filtration chamber has lots of extra room for bioballs, cheto, etc. Ideal for an over sump light. Also, there is enough room that I was able to add an aftermarket skimmer to the rear chamber. 4) Low power consumption overall. 89W for all lights combine, 11W each for the stock return pumps. Total 111watts if you are running everything all the time. Cons: 1) The feeding door is a bit small. I wish they would have stayed with the design from the JBJ24 where the whole front flips up. 2) The filtration chamber in the rear, though spacious, is not wide enough in my opinion. It would be nice to fit a skimmer in and have some room around it to maneuver your hand. As it is, my skimmer is extremely snug fit. An extra inch longer in the filtration chamber would have been ideal. 3) The legs that hold the hood up are very flimsy. They are little stilts that you lift into slots. I am worried that they may snap one day or slip from the slots and slam the lid shut. With a lighting hood as large and heavy as this one, maybe some skinny hydraulic lifting arms could be implemented (like on the hood of a car). It would up the price a bit, but it would put my mind at ease. 4) The stock pumps were a bit loud. Maybe I had some faulty ones. I had planned to replace them anyway to get more flow. 5) Finally, and probably most important, when I received the tank and stand, I found that many of the parts were bent, scratched or just plain destroyed. The laminate on the stand had begun to peel, one of the plastic feet had been completely crushed to pieces, the lighting ballast/driver connectors had been crushed and the door panel was scratched to hell. I reported this issue to MarineDepot, who in turn contacted the manufacturer to send out replacement parts at no cost to me. I am thankful for the great support at MarineDepot, but very disappointed in the condition of the manufacturer's product when I received it. Everything was made right eventually, but it took a little longer to get the replacement parts. Hence, the 4.5 star rating. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking for a larger nano tank. I cannot think of a better "out of the box" nano tank currently on the market. Aftermarket Upgrades: 1) MaxiJet 1200 pumps (adds 35gph flow each over the stock pumps) 2) Hydor rotating water deflectors 3) Koralia in tank circulation pump 600gph 4) Aqua Euro USA Nano Protein Skimmer 2


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




28 gallon 89watt led

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 1/7/2014 from EAST LANSING, MI UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: If you are considering a nano/mini reef tank, this is the tank for you! From the built in wave maker, to the high output led light system (89 watts), this tank is EVERYTHING they say it is and more. Buy this with no regrets! The store makes purchasing easy and they stand behind their products. Stop reading this review and buy it already!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Nano Cube

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 12/30/2013 from RIDGEFIELD, CT UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Very happy with this tank so far (still in cycle). It's very quiet, when the main lights are off (and associated fan) it's basically silent. The return pumps feel a little weak, I'll see how they progress. I was able to position the tank very close to the wall, love how tightly contained the whole thing is. The three separate sets of lights allow for nice day/dusk/night effects and it is as bright as I expected. I was also pleased with the stand, I was initially concerned based on some of the reviews. Went together easily and seems very sturdy.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Nice Tank, Horrible Stand

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 10/2/2013 from Tennessee
3.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: First of all I want to say that I like these Nano’s and this isn't my first. My first Nano was a 24g compact and I've now upgraded to the Advanced LED. My only complaint is with the stand. I got the stand free (per say) so I had high hopes it would be descent quality. Unfortunately, this stand has to be one of the cheapest items I've ever put together. I'm literally concerned about the sturdiness/reliability of this stand. The stand wobbles despite the fact it was put together according to specifications. In addition, to the overall quality, the item came scratched and two of my dowels broke off in the holes because they are so cheap. If you're going to rely on dowels to hold this item together then at least provide real wood. I literally shifted the two pieces slightly and they broke off. I had to get my drill bit out and rebore the dowels out of the holes. I may throw this stand in the trash but I haven't made up my mind just yet.


2 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




nice tank for the money

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 11/10/2011
4.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: great tank! with a few mods you can have a awsome reef tank. 89watt leds are great, corals are loveing it! multible timers are a must.not included unfortunitly.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




nice tank for the money

by
Reviewers Rating Great


Posted: 10/11/2011 from Saint Louis, MO UNITED STATES
3.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: great tank! with a few mods you can have a awsome reef tank. 89watt leds are great, corals are loveing it! multible timers are a must.not included unfortunitly.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No


of 6
Page
JBJ 28 Gallon Nano Cube LED Aquarium w/ FREE MTS-60 Stand Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: JBJ 28 Gallon Nano Cube w/ FREE MTS-60 Stand

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Sept 6, 2014
"Site is clear and easy-to-use. Product info very clear. Best price I found with free shipping."
Beej

Sept 5, 2014
"Marine Depot is the bizzomb."
jedimasterben

Sept 2, 2014
"Fast replies from experienced aquarists. Went well beyond expectations and provides quality products."
Filterless

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.