Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Water Pumps  » External  » 2000 GPH & Higher  »  ReeFlo Hammerhead/Barracuda Hybrid Pump (6000/4290 gph)
ReeFlo Hammerhead/Barracuda Hybrid Pump (6000/4290 gph)

ReeFlo Hammerhead/Barracuda Hybrid Pump (6000/4290 gph)

In Stock: Order by 6PM EST for same-day shipping (M-F)
Item #:
MM2357
Size:
Quantity:
Qualifies for Free Shipping!
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

ReeFlo Hammerhead/Barracuda Hybrid Pump (6000/4290 gph) Information




The Hammerhead Hybrid can be converted into a Hammerhead or a Barracuda.

"The Hammerhead™ is the most powerful pump in its class. This energy efficient pump is ideal for 300-500 gallon aquariums. This unit is rated for a maximum flow rate of 6000gph, a shut off head of 24 feet and maximum wattage of 355/ 3 amps. Using a 1/3 horsepower Baldor® TEFC Motor manufactured in the USA.

The Barracuda™ is our energy efficient entry-level pump for applications requiring moderate head pressure and high flow rates. Ideal applications for this unit are 180-350 gallon tanks with sump return systems requiring a minimum of 10 feet static head. This unit is rated for a maximum flow rate of 4590gph, a shut off head of 20 feet, and maximum wattage of 253 / 2 amps.

Features:
  • Quiet operation
  • Minimal heat transfer
  • Units are pre-wired with an 8ft cord and molded 115V plug
  • Low Speed
  • Low Wattage
  • Flow-biased pump
  • Fan-cooled motor
Specifications:
  • Maximum Flow Rate: 6000/4590gph
  • Maximum Shut-Off Head: 24/20`
  • Maximum Wattage: 355/253W
  • Average Wattage: 337/237W
  • Inlet/Outlet: 1.5" FNPT / 1.5" FNPT
  • Dimensions (L x W x H): 14.20" x 8.33" x 7.54"
  • Warranty: 3-year manufacturer`s warranty


Barracuda Hammerhead
Pressure GPH Watts Pressure GPH Watts
2` 4290 225 0` 6000 350
4` 3632 236 4` 5500 355
8` 3333 248 9` 4880 365
10` 3325 251 14` 4200 355
12` 3100 253 17` 3600 345
16` 2400 253 20` 3000 325
20` 660 190 24` 600 265


ReeFlo Hammerhead/Barracuda Hybrid Pump (6000/4290 gph) Reviews



Average Rating
(70 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 7
Page


Unreliable

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 2/27/2014
1.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Fine for the first weeks or so, but then things break left and right on these things. Pump failure is high, I have 9 pumps now that haven;t made it a full year from 14. If you check online you see tons of people selling parts for ReefFlo products but not other pumps. I wonder why that is?....Get an Iwaki, got one of those from MD that outlasted 4 ReefFlo pumps that were next to it on this particular system. 4.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Love this pump

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/27/2014
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I'm running this on a new 150 gallon reef that I'm just starting up with a proflex model 4 sump. I initially was concerned that I may not have enough water flow but with the dart impeller it was too much I installed the snapper impeller and i still had to throttle it down a bit. Currently this pump is drawing 81 watts and is running nice amd quiet. I would definitely recommend this pump.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Silence at last!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 12/17/2013 from FRESNO, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This pump replaced very noisy and bulky Mad Flo 3500 pump by Bashsea which I was using as a return.Both pumps have similar characteristics and supposedly flow rate. First thing I noticed is that noise level is virtually undetectable! Other things-it seem to have higher flow than my previous pump as I had to restrict it, so my overflow can cope with it. Also I measured energy consumption using Kill-a Watt device and looks if as my savings will be around 60$/year. Most importantly, my wife is happy too as the only sound around my aquarium is gentle flow of water, not vibration of the pump!


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Love this pump

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 10/17/2013 from MURRIETA, CA UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I'm running this on a new 150 gallon reef that I'm just starting up with a proflex model 4 sump. I initially was concerned that I may not have enough water flow but with the dart impeller it was too much I installed the snapper impeller and i still had to throttle it down a bit. Currently this pump is drawing 81 watts and is running nice amd quiet. I would definitely recommend this pump.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Great pump and very quiet

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 7/18/2013 from EAGLE POINT, OR UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: This is a great pump, I've had one on my 300 gal FOWLR tank for 3 years now with no problems, I am setting up a 650 gal reef and I am using two of these pumps instead of a wave maker, two pumps will provide the flow needed for such a large aquarium, and much quieter than the Reeflo Hammerhead. In itself, the Hammerhead is an outstanding pump, just too noisy for your typical living room.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




They all LEAK

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 5/21/2013 from TAMPA, FL UNITED STATES
0.5 5
Experience Level: Expert


Comments: All of these pumps will leak! It's a ridiculous seal design and unfortunate that there aren't more options out there or high flow pumps besides Reeflo. They advertise that you can valve the pumps back to save electricity but when you do, it just makes the seals fail quicker. I have had a snapper that went 2 years before leaking and am on my 3rd set of seals on my hammerhead in 2 years. I'm lucky enough to be able to run them in my garage but would never consider using them inside of my home. The flow and how quiet they are is impressive, for that they get 1 star


4 of 10 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




They all LEAK

by
Reviewers Rating Unsatisfactory


Posted: 5/21/2013
1.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: All of these pumps will leak! It's a ridiculous seal design and unfortunate that there aren't more options out there or high flow pumps besides Reeflo. They advertise that you can valve the pumps back to save electricity but when you do, it just makes the seals fail quicker. I have had a snapper that went 2 years before leaking and am on my 3rd set of seals on my hammerhead in 2 years. I'm lucky enough to be able to run them in my garage but would never consider using them inside of my home. The flow and how quiet they are is impressive, for that they get 1 star


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Super quiet pump!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/29/2013 from Glendale, AZ UNITED STATES
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I returned a noisy in-sump return pump and got this slightly more expensive Reeflo Snapper/Dart for my 225 FOWLR. Extremely quiet like it's not even running! The rear rubber support that muffles sound/vibration was half torn from the screw when pulled out of the box, not too big of a deal. Overall, very very pleased with the quality & performance.


1 of 1 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




Super quiet pump!

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/29/2013
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I returned a noisy in-sump return pump and got this slightly more expensive Reeflo Snapper/Dart for my 225 FOWLR. Extremely quiet like it's not even running! The rear rubber support that muffles sound/vibration was half torn from the screw when pulled out of the box, not too big of a deal. Overall, very very pleased with the quality & performance.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Snapper hybrid

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/10/2013 from FARMINGTON HILLS, MI UNITED ST
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Quiet pump good flow, using it on a 220 freshwater system with a 100 gal sump seems to be handling everything fine.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No


of 7
Page

Accessories for ReeFlo Hammerhead/Barracuda Hybrid Pump (6000/4290 gph)




Similar Items



ReeFlo Hammerhead/Barracuda Hybrid Pump (6000/4290 gph) Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: ReeFlo External Low Speed Pumps

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Sept 12, 2014
"Great store with all the right supplies for the Reefer."
TCshore

Sept 12, 2014
"Very satisfied with all my purchases from Marine Depot. The ease of ordering to the prompt and quick delivery of merchandise, I am very pleased. Thank You!"
Phil

Sept 12, 2014
"Great site...I order most of my reef supplies from here. And they always have everything in stock."
Smitty

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.