Great Aquariums Start Here
1-800-566-3474
Live Chat Support
    Free Shipping On $175+
  • FREE Shipping On $175+
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • 14-Day Low Price Guarantee
  • Same Day Shipping
  • Same Day Shipping
FREE Shipping on Orders Over $175
FREE Shipping on
Orders Over $175
Standard ground shipping (1-7 business days) starts at a low $5.99 and most orders over $175 ship FREE. Learn More
14-Day Low Price Guarantee
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you've purchased the item! Learn More
Same Day Shipping
Same Day Shipping
We promise to ship your order as fast as humanly possible. In fact, 99% of orders placed before 6 pm EST ship the same day! Learn More
Home » Saltwater Aquarium Supplies  » Filters  » Inline & Specialty Filters  » Biopellet Reactors  »  Hydra Aquatics BioPellet Reactor FR-30
Hydra Aquatics BioPellet Reactor FR-30

Hydra Aquatics BioPellet Reactor FR-30

In Stock: Buy now and your order will ship the next business day
Item #:
AZ21465
Size:
Quantity:
Marine Depot 60-day Returns
At Marine Depot, we stand behind our products. That is why we offer a 60-day return period: one of the best in the industry! Learn More

Hydra Aquatics BioPellet Reactor FR-30 Information


Product Manuals & Documentation

The Hydra Aquatics Biopellet Reactor is a great piece of equipment used to boost biological activity in an aquarium with the use of biopellet media. The reactor works by pushing a stream of water through an accelerator which agitates the media and puts it in motion within the reactor. This process is called fluidization. The efficiency of the media is increased it churns inside the reactor. The filtered water is then returned to your aquarium.

One of the greatest advantages the Hydra Aquatics Biopellet Reactor has over its competitors lies in its innovative design. Hydra Aquatics has solved the two most common problems that plague standard media reactors by incorporating an inverted conical bottom and a top-fed flow accelerator.

Most media reactors use a bottom-fed flow diffusion method through a plate. This smooth, constant flow is typically referred to as up-flow or reverse flow. Unfortunately, using this type of flow inside a media reactor usually causes lighter filter media to clump at the top and denser media to settle at the bottom. Using Hydra Aquatics inverted conical bottom and top-fed flow accelerator design, it is impossible for the media to clump together or settle completely at the bottom.

Using our flow accelerator technology combined with an inverted conical bottom we are able to create specific internal flow patterns. The flow within the reactor keeps media suspended at all times. We guarantee the best water-to-media contact as your media of choice is circulated for 100% full saturation. Flow can easily be controlled using a gate valve or at the pump.

Having proper media saturation and keeping media in suspension will greatly increase contact time of water-to-media. Reactor media that is at a standstill is less efficient as the saturation levels are lowered. With reactor media in full suspension, you are increasing surface area to water contact time which in turn gives you the best results for whatever media you are using. Hydra Aquatics Biopellet Media Reactor is efficiently designed to give you the most out of your choice of media.

  • Recommended Feed Pump: 600-1500 L/H
  • Media: 50-600ml
  • Dimensions: Base diameter: 5.5" Overall Height: 15.5".
  • Inlet Uses 1/2" or 3/4" ID vinyl tubing. (Pump and tubing are not included).


Hydra Aquatics BioPellet Reactor FR-30 Reviews



Average Rating
(18 reviews)
Sort Reviews By:
of 2
Page


Can't go wrong

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 8/1/2014 from DALEVILLE, VA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Awesome design i purchased the smaller unit. (The screw cap comes off on the top so you can add media with out the hassle of unscrewing the lid.) (A nice collar that can be used or removed) (90 degree elbows plumbed in ) (extra plumbing parts)in which other brands don't have a long and short stand pipe so you can use various types of media. I use a Marineland pump and it really churns the bio-pellets Simple design awesome results :) I have used 2 lil fishes phosban reactors for years and after using this reactor i threw my phosban reactors in the garbage…...


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Hydra reactor

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/18/2014 from Chico, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Already owned one of these bought the second for my 90 these are the best reactors i have used they dont pack up and clump like so many do. I give these a 5 star.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




ok

by
Reviewers Rating Average


Posted: 5/17/2014 from MYERSVILLE, MD UNITED STATES
3.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: had great expectations for this media system. worked great for 1 day then the upper filter clogged. severely limiting flow. took out filter no it works great. filter needs to be a bit more porous. also 2 different size tubing is required. make sure you get hose clamps as well.


0 of 2 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No




near perfect reactor

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/10/2014 from tampa, FL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I very rarely give anything 5 out of 5 stars but this reactor is nearly perfect. It tumbles great and you dont have to take the top completely off to add media. The screen at the top seemed to clog easily so I removed it and have the outflow dump directly into the sock filter in the sump.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Great product

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 4/7/2014 from DORA, AL UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Very well made. Super easy to assemble. The best tumbling action I've seen.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Hydra Azuatics BioPellet React

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 2/27/2014
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: Although no instructions are included, set-up and operation are very straight forward and simple. First thing I always do is disassemble all factory assembled parts and use teflon tape on threaded parts, and silicon grease on o-rings ect. I plumbed the reactor between my chiller and return line and after installing the media, I turned it on. The media really churns nicely with no clumping. Seems to be working reducing nitrate levels.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Media reactor

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 11/9/2013 from SALT LAKE CITY, UT UNITED STAT
4.5 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I am very pleased with the excellent flow of the bio-pellets in my new Hydra Aquatics reactor. I would recommend this product to anyone.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




This do good job.

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/26/2013 from SAN JOSE, CA UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This do good job.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Media reactor

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 9/11/2013
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: I am very pleased with the excellent flow of the bio-pellets in my new Hydra Aquatics reactor. I would recommend this product to anyone.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No




Hydra Aquatics reactor

by
Reviewers Rating Excellent!


Posted: 5/19/2013 from MERRICK, NY UNITED STATES
5.0 5
Experience Level: Intermediate


Comments: This reactor is awesome. It really creates a tremedous amount of movement for the bio plastics media that I have in there. I have heard of a lot of people complaining about there bio media sticking together because they were not able to tumble it enough in their reactors. Totally not the case with this reactor. I would highly recommend it to anybody that wants to use bio plastics.


4 of 4 People found this review helpful, did you? Yes No


of 2
Page
Hydra Aquatics BioPellet Reactor FR-30 Window Navigation Prev Next Zoom Close
We value your opinion & experience
Thank you for taking the time to review our products!

This is a Product Review for: Hydra Aquatics BioPellet Reactor

First tell us about yourself.

Name to display on the review: Location (ex: Anaheim, CA):
Your experience level:


How would you rate this product?

Review Title:


Write your review:
(Please focus on product quality and performance, maximum 2000 characters)

This item is temporarily unavailable but will be back in stock soon.

Item #
Price:
Click the Add To Cart button below if you'd like to reserve this item today. Any other items included in your order will be immediately processed and shipped. We will ship this item separately as soon as it arrives. We will not charge you for this item until it ships and you will incur no additional shipping charges.

Enter your email address in the field below and click the Notify Me button if you'd like us to send you an email when this item becomes available. Although you will be immediately notified when we have stock on hand, we will not reserve any units for you; you must return to our website and place an order.

Your Email:
Just enter your email address below and we'll let you know when the product you are looking for becomes available!

Item Code:
Price:
Your Email:
If you find a product we sell for a lower price at another online store, we will match their price—today and up to 14 days after you’ve purchased the item!

Enter the price, shipping cost and website address where you found the lower price. Then click the "Add to Cart" button. We will review the lower price while processing your order and make any necessary reductions before your order ships. Some restrictions apply. See Terms & Conditions.

Price *
Shipping Cost *
Competitor's Website *

Please make a selection 
Add to Wish List
Select Wish List:
Comments (up to 200 characters):
Quantity Desired:
Quantity Received:
Priority:
Email Specials
Subscribe to our newsletter feed.
Newsletter Tips & Tricks! New Products!
Discounts & Promos!
Testimonials
Oct 14, 2014
"I have found that shopping at Marine Depot is always easy. They have a large selection of items in most every category. Their pricing is always the best with sales on most items."
Fishy

Oct 13, 2014
"Excellent! Couldn't be easier to get the supplies I need. Thanks as always!"
Danny

Sep 28, 2014
"Always find what I'm looking for. Appreciate the selection of reasonably priced fish meds."
ahm

Marine Depot Newsletter Signup
Aquariums, News & Culture
Join 100,000+ readers who receive weekly tips, videos, deals and giveaways.